My Story: #BeATrailblazer

Clara Perez
5 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Hi, my name is Clara and this is my story: From jobless and depressed to CEO of my own company, Radical One, a Salesforce Consulting Partner and ISV.

This journey it’s about kindness, compassion, resilience, and, of course, Salesforce.

Breakdowns and reality checks

My career started in 2010, fresh out of college, with great dreams and high hopes of conquering the world, as any young professional. Although my Salesforce career began a year later, I was completely excited about the possibility of creating something bigger than me. But reality hit hard. I quickly realized the challenges of being a woman in STEM, especially in the Dominican Republic, a third-world country where job opportunities are limited.

Soon I found myself jobless and depressed, with a student loan to pay and zero dollars to spare. So, I did what I had to do; I got a job as a customer representative at a call center. It was not my dream job, but it paid the bills.

When you are in a slump, you’re not in for much fun. Unslumping yourself is not easily done. — Dr. Seuss, (Oh! The places you’ll go)

I was in a slump, both in my work life and personally. Ever been there? Wondering how on earth to shake off that feeling? Is there any light at the end of the tunnel? And what do you do when it feels like every possible way forward is a dead end, like all the doors (and even the windows) are slammed shut?

Friendship, Breakthroughs and Courage

I wish I could say I had a master plan to quickly bounce back or that I possessed the strength to dust myself off and reach new heights immediately, but in reality, I didn’t. All I had was a stroke of luck that led me to answer a phone call from a friend one day. Here’s how that conversation unfolded:

Friend: Hey Clara, how are you doing? What are you working on?
Me: I’m taking calls at a call center. I’m not doing well
Friend: I’ve got you an interview; you’ll be working with Salesforce
Me: What is Salesforce? I don’t know how to sell things.
Friend: It’s not about Sales, it’s about software.

Most breakthroughs happen after breakdowns, a little bit of luck, and a whole ton of courage. I immediately quit my job, purchased a plane ticket, and traveled to New Jersey to meet George Turano, who was then the CEO of Infield Sales Pro, a Salesforce ISV partner.

Kindness and Opportunity

Boy, was I nervous during the interview. I was all rusty in my programming skills and knew nothing about this platform called “Salesforce.” I still don’t know what George saw in me; maybe it was potential, perhaps it was my passion for learning; whatever it was, he gave me one chance, one opportunity, and that’s all it took to spark a radical change in my life.

The moment I saw and interacted with Salesforce back in 2011, I immediately knew this was the future, and I wanted to be part of it.

Yes, I landed the job. My paycheck was $800.00 dollars per month, but the value I found in being part of a game-changing platform was immeasurable. It provided me with invaluable technical and personal growth opportunities, and for that, I was truly grateful and fulfilled.

Resilience

After a week of coaching, I returned home to the Dominican Republic, and I only had one mission: to become one of the best Salesforce administrators in the company. For an entire year, I only did two things: work and study. There were no night outs, no movie nights, no partying, and no going to the beach. It was all about my career.

Back then, we didn’t have Trailhead, but we had Salesforce Workbooks, Salesforce Forums, and the vibrant, oh-so-helpful Salesforce community. That was enough.

Salesforce Integration Workbook, Summer’15

I was pumped, I was highly motivated, furthermore, I was supported. I remember when Keir Bowden (AKA Bobbuzzard) offered to be my mentor while on my journey to become a Salesforce developer. I learned the value of helping others.

In 2012, I got my first Salesforce certification, Platform Developer I, and my career blossomed. Doors (and windows) started to open for me in, both, my professional career and my personal life. Finally, there was light at the end of the tunnel.

Paying it forward

Salesforce Developer Group
Somehow, I knew I had stumbled into a pot of gold, and the urge to share this treasure with others started from within. I founded the Salesforce Developer Group in 2013 in my hometown of Santiago. I went straight for college students as my audience; I knew I could make a difference in their lives, and out of my own pocket, I started workshops and hands-on training.

Salesforce Developer Group, 2015

I trained them with what I’ve learned over the past couple of years: kindness, compassion, resilience, and Salesforce.

I knew I was changing lives for the better. The group started with 12 students, and now all of them are Salesforce professionals and have at least one certification. Nowadays, more than ten years later, the Salesforce Developer Group continues to exist with a steady attendance of 20 to 25 active members.

Trailhead DX viewing Party, 2016

Online Webinars, Bootcamps and More
It became clear to me how much I enjoyed teaching and sharing my knowledge. In 2016, I pursued certification as a Salesforce instructor; with the help of Andres Pérez (AKA elToroIT), who guided me through the entire process. Additionally, I began hosting free online webinars in both English and Spanish. Since then, I’ve had the privilege of leading many classes and connecting with thousands of individuals eager to learn, grow, and excel in their professional journeys, whether as administrators, developers, or consultants.

Hands-on Training Bootcamp, Dreamforce ‘16

Sometime along the way of your Salesforce career will come a desire from within to help others -Don’t fight back- Let it sync and flow. And then you will discover that there is greatness in helping others, not because you are better than them, but because you are humble enough to acknowledge you faced the same difficulties they are going through now.

As I sit and reflect on my story today, there’s only one word that comes to mind: grateful.

I am grateful now for the challenges I faced, the opportunities I was given, the lessons I learned, and the knowledge I’ve shared.

There’s one more thought I’d like to share: If you are going through a breakdown, just remember that your breakthrough might be a phone call away or just around the corner. Treat yourself with compassion.

--

--

Clara Perez

Salesforce Architect and passionate teacher. I integrate with people and connect with systems, or is it the other way around?